cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Sure Signal V3 bandwidth limit? - anyone run V3 on 2Mbps?

PMOsb
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Hi,  I'm new to VF and new to SureSignal.   I have installed SureSignal on the express understanding it would need a minimum of 1Mbps broadband.  That is what it says in the spec sheets too.

http://devicehelp.vodafone.co.uk/filestore/devices/Vodafone/Sure%20Signal/Sure_Signal_Questions.pdf

But as I am setting it up I talked to Business Tech support (offshore) and he insists that 4Mbps is the minimum for SS v3 (and when pressed) he said V2 would work.  Basically he says SSv3 will not work on my 2Mbps broadband.

However I don't necessarily believe him, so before I send it back and abandon my 1 day old VF contracts -  

1      has anyone got a SSv3 running on a 2Mbps internet connection?

2      will a SS v2 be any better?

(I won't be using more than one 3G mobile at any one time)

Thanks in anticipation.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Things develop.  After loads more tweaking router settings, I swapped out the Vodafone supplied ethernet cable. Bingo - the SS changes from flashing power to "Internet" icon and starts showing in my router.   This seems crazy considering the SS had already logged on to VF servers yesterday with that apparently defective cable.   Trouble shooting is so difficult this way.  NB  It would be so helpful for there to be a detailed manual for SS that explained what each light does and the startup sequences and what the SS is doing for the hour initialisation etc.   I know VF want to portray SS to be plug and go... but it often isn't.

View solution in original position

12 REPLIES 12

DaveCD
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)

Hi bronzy_1

The Sure Signal can run on lower speeds, it's just not recommended. As long as you have the minimum of 2.84mbps download and 0.83mbps upload, it'll work.