Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

One M9 runs surprisingly hot

Annie_N
Community Champion (Retired)

I am fortunate enough to have a "preview" One M9 on loan. After a rather nervous pause for thought, I got it set up and running yesterday afternoon, and everything seemed to go smoothly enough, allowing for the fact that it's a much more powerful beast than I'm used to.

To begin with, I didn't think all that much about its temperature, as I still had it on charge while it got up to 100%, and phones do tend to get hot if used while charging. However, I continued to put it through its paces after disconnecting the charger, and it continued to run surprisingly hot.

This may be "normal" for top-end phones, of which I have little experience. However, I find it a little unsettling, if only on the basis of past experience with a laptop which tended to misbehave badly if separated from its fan-base.

Annie.

6 REPLIES 6

thesoupdragon
17: Community Champion

If you open the "HTC Help" app on your phone, there is a trouble shooting section there. It does mention about the phone becoming warm with continued use or during gaming etc.. It should cool rapidly once you stop using it.

If the phone is getting hot without being used, that is a different matter and probably cause for concern.

Annie_N

At the outset I felt that the phone was becoming hot in relation to the amount of work I was expecting of it. However, I haven't noticed that to anything like the same extent since - it has become warm, but only what I would feel was "reasonably" so.

So, although I thought I had done all the necessary updating while getting it set up, it may well be that it was still doing some updating in the background, and that it was actually working rather harder than I thought.

Annie.

hrym