You are here:

Pay monthly products & services

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Indeed. I have also had problems with a wireless cannon printer. Had to reset settings on the router to find it. Never had problems with the BT router.

 

Dear VF: please also note that we do not have the option of putting our NASs on wireless.

Message 41 of 367 (23,076 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-03-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Looking forward to getting the new firmware update (still under testing according to the update today to the announcement post).

 

I would like to flag that I don't think this is just a DLNA issue, I think it's more like some kind of AP/port isolation issue. The reason I say this is because I am having problems where devices which are connected via WiFi to the router can't see the devices which are connected to the LAN ports. This includes devices connected via Powerline adapters which end up connected to one of the LAN ports on the Vodafone Connect router.

 

This means that the following scenarios just don't work:

 

  • Mac Book Pro connected via WiFi to a Powerline Access Point/adapter, which then connects to a Powerline adapter connected to the Vodafone Connect LAN port, can't access a HP printer which is connected via WiFi to the Vodafone Connect Access Point
  • Windows 10 laptop connected via WiFi to the Vodafone Connect Access Point can't connect to Xbox One for game streaming, where the Xbox One is connected via a wired connection to a Powerline adapter, which connects to the other Powerline adapter which is connected to the Vodafone Connect LAN port
  • Scanning the devices on the network using Fing on an Android smartphone connected to the Vodafone Connect WiFi access point will show the other devices connected to that access point, but will not discover anything connected to the LAN ports (either directly or via Powerline adapters).

 

I do hope the upcoming firmware update resolved this, but I would encourage Vodafone to also provide the broadband login details to allow users to install their own router if they want, with the understanding that it would not be officially supported. Alternatively, please provide some way to access the full settings/configuration of the Vodafone Connect router so that advanced users can get proper diagnostic information and have proper control over the device.

 

Message 42 of 367 (22,922 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎18-12-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Access to the client dhcp settings would be good too.

 

I would like my opendns servers for proper parental control. Not the flimsey Vodafone version

Message 43 of 367 (22,911 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

[ Edited ]

Completely agree cjwalsh... its WiFi to Lan that is the issue.

 

As its the same for me when i use fing or netty to look at my network (via VF connect router Wifi on iphone)

 

The devices i have via LAN seem to show at first but then just disapear off the network shortly after...   its really bizarre.

 

i have or should i say had ... 2 x APs wired to the connect router, which have both wired and wireless connections off the back of them (printers/NAS/Sonos etc etc).

 

If i use fing when WiFi on VF connect it cannot see the APs or any of the AP devices, and as such i cannot use my iphone to connect to the printers or sonos devices etc its like they dont exist.

 

now if i then walk to the access point and my iphone switches wifi to AP1 - all of a sudden my network is fully alive and fing returns all my network and i can see and ping all devices  - i can even ping and connect to the devices on AP2 (which is cabled via the VF connect router) which shows that the LAN connections are ok.

 

Definately something very wrong with the VF connect router

 

Like is said in a prev post - 

VF connect router is a modem currently and my 6 years old Dlink (sat infront) is doing a good job and glad i didnt bin it :-).

 

Message 44 of 367 (22,894 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎26-03-2014

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I have just spoken to VF support about something else, and asked about the firmware - apparently it has been delayed because they hit some problems in testing, and they are now testing it again. She couldn't give me a timescale though ..

 

As a side note, she was very helpful and switched on, and they now have a ACD menu option for broadband, which is a good change.

Message 45 of 367 (22,875 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-03-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Hey jaysy,

 

Just wondering, when you connect via WiFi to your AP1 or AP2, can you seen anything which has connected to the VF connect AP?

 

It sounds like there's some issue with AP isolation on the router. If you enable the second WiFi SSID on the router it definitely seems to be operating that SSID in isolated/guest mode, with no access to anything else on the router except internet access, which is fine, but it feels like there's some other kind of isolation between the normal SSID and the LAN ports.

 

Message 46 of 367 (22,851 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

[ Edited ]

i cant remember to be honest i would have to re-test.

 

So connecting stuff to via LAN or Wifi (like smart TV, Apple TV, Sky etc that have the choice & which are in the same cabinet as the Connect router that i couldnt tell you sorry) trial and error... some things worked some didnt in various configurations....  it didnt all work together that was the problem

 

the issues i was looking at was as the Connect Router is in the main area of my house where i use Wifi the most and cos it had strong wifi i was always on it ....  i couldnt control devicese or sent prints to my "lost" devices in the corners of my house and why i need the APs to give coverage there ...    so i was looking out, so to speak and not in as much when i was on either AP looking in.

 

Message 47 of 367 (22,843 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎27-07-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Just an update for my situation. Spotify connect keeps coming on and off as am option when trying to connect through my iPhone 6.
Same happens with Amazon fire tv app, sometimes recognises the fire tv, sometimes keeps scanning.
Surprisingly my dlink powerline adapter connects no problem. If looks like the issue could be hardware not just software IMHO.
Mind you none of this was an issue with Home hub 5.
Vodafone really needs to pull their acts together or else they will lose a lot of annoyed customers. At the least they need to educate their technical support staff.
Message 48 of 367 (22,731 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎26-03-2014

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Is anyone aware of any news on the promised router firmware update?

 

I have Sonos tech support chasing me every now and then to see if the new firmware has resolved the issue .. shame Vodafone aren't so diligent.

Message 49 of 367 (21,080 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎18-12-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I had VF on the phone yesterday, as my router drops its speed to 2-3Mbps and a factory reset is needed.

 

I mentioned again my synology and sky q being useless on the wire because of their shonky router software

 

they again reiterated that it was in testing and no firm release date.

Message 50 of 367 (21,069 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎26-03-2014

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Thanks Cooper
Message 51 of 367 (21,067 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎27-07-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

It is official guys, have a look at the best and worst network in today's news? No wonder they don't have time to listen to their customers.
@coopermarsh
I started my broadband speed with a healthy 25 Meg which was stable worth no dropouts. It has progressively dropped to 18meg. Forget customer service helping, it's better off banging your head against a rock.
Message 52 of 367 (20,955 Views)
Posts: 406
Topics: 2
Thanks: 81
Solutions: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

@Braj_chan @dynamick @dglasbrook @coopermarsh

 

We’re sorry for our delay in replying.

 

Please see our updated statement for more information regarding this.

Message 53 of 367 (20,889 Views)
Rank 9: Helper III
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎15-01-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Charles, that 'updated' statement is already a month out of date and that update took three months to come out.

Over four months from when Vodafone acknowleged there was a problem and still no fix is released. It is simply not good enough.

 

God help anyone if there is a security issue with this router. 

 

To those who did switch to Vodafone Broadband, you have my sympathy. Thankfully I decided to wait a while and after this debacle, it's highly unlikely I ever will.

Message 54 of 367 (20,855 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎18-12-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Thanks for your sympathy Makelo.

 

The Salespatter i fell for though and it feels like i have been poked with a very sharp stick.

 

The product's shortfalls are its internal struggle to get into the home broadband market quickly. poorly tested poorly exectuted.

 

I had the comment from the tech support that vodafone cannot be responsible for the way a 3rd party product connecting and works.

 

The very fact that vodafone is offering a wireless router with gigabit ethernet everything is third party.  

Message 55 of 367 (20,816 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎25-04-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Hi all,

 

Not sure if this is the best thread to ask in but didn't want to start another topic...

 

Does anyone know where I can find a proper user manual for the Huawei HHG2500 that Vodafone has supplied me with as a part of my new Fibre Broadband package?  The QSG is not a lot of use.

 

I am particularly keen to understand how the "Firewall" and "Secure DNS" functions.  I've already discovered how locked out I am as a user from some of the more important settings (such as DNS)  - or even from viewing them!

 

I am going to do as others have done and place a downstream router in my system to take over DHCP, DNS settings and WiFi to regain as much control as I can - although WiFi doesn't seem too bad, despite limiting the WPA2 passphrase to 24 chars for no good reason...  I can't do anything about Port 443 being open to the WAN, seemingly (see my other post and screenshots!) but at least I can lock down access to the LAN side.

 

Anybody?

Message 56 of 367 (20,494 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎26-03-2014

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Hi Charles

Aanother month on - any news on the firmware update?

Thanks

David

Message 57 of 367 (19,640 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎18-12-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

You cant mention the update its like opening up Schroedingers box to find there is no update. whilst you dont ask the update is on its way!!!

Message 58 of 367 (19,635 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-03-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Cmon Vodafone this is seriously taking the p155 now. I take it you are not using Agile / Devops methods to release updates !
Message 59 of 367 (19,596 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎25-05-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I signed up for the vodafone fibre package last week, and having received my router was puzzled as the connection is different to my current fibre connection (current RJ11 master socket to fibre modem, RJ45 from fibre modem to current router. VF router has RJ11 direct in as DSL which threw me as I had signed up for fibre package).

 

However having found this forum, it scared me as I too have a complex internal network, including a WD MyCloud giving out DLNA to the inside network. Even though my connection isn't due to go live till the 7th June, I decided to configure and test it all internally yesterday. 

 

What surprised me is I got it all working, including DLNA from my WDMycloud to my television.Something I was anticipating failing and causing me to call vodafone to cancel.

 

My router is on firmware version 5.4.8.1.160.13.75 (hasn't upgraded as it's not live on line yet) I changed the wireless network names, internal IP address (I'm using 10.0.0.1) and turned off the DLNA service. 

 

Turned on my tele (panasonic 2014 vintage) and configured for the new wifi network. Got the onscreen message no DLNA server. Turned on the VF DLNA, it showed up in the tele. Turned it off again, got the no DLNA message, and I was sitting there thinking about my next step, when the WD DLNA popped up on the tele, and I was able to browse music, pictures with no problem.

 

Tested several times, and rebooted router, consistent results, it takes around a minute or so for the WD to show up, and then all works. 

 

Also checked folder browsing to the WDMYcloud, and configured and tested wireless printing to my epson printer. all worked fine.

 

Interesting, when the WDMycloud showed up in DLNA, a service appeared in port management, service WD2GO, ip address of the mycloud, protocol TCP, external port 9093, internal port 80. This may be to do with the WDMycloud serving the data to WD for external access outside my home.

 

I can't explain why DLNA from my NAS works, and yours don't. I did wonder about the firmware version, and I'll be checking it carefully when it goes live.

 

Thanks to all for raising this issue, I'm glad it hasn't affected me. (yet!)

 

 

Richard

Message 60 of 367 (19,230 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Top up