Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

VSS ver3 and pppoe

Martin222
2: Seeker
I seem to be stuck with the common problem. in short: VSS ver 3 red light on and first white flashing. We are on fibre optic hence pppoe . Have tried all the usual stuff - resets , resynch, port forwarding and changing mtu . All to no avail. I have a netgear wrn1000 router. My question is (and i am no techie): Is anyone running successfully with pppoe with a normal router in which case I might
change to that router ?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Update - for anyone else with similar problems!

I tried numerous further minor adjustments to the router settings, without any success at all. I contacted Vodaphone one last time, who suggested returning the VSS unit and getting another one. I was pretty sceptical about this, but did so anyway. After some initial problems, and a re-sync, much to my surprise the replacement VSS has started to work pretty well. In the last 10 days it has been on 95% of the time and mostly when it goes off it manages to recover by itself. However, there are times when only a reset will do the trick.

To summarise things I did (although I am not totally sure which one helped):

I replaced the VSS unit (was the last thing I did)

As advised by Vodaphone I set up Port Forwarding, and a Static IP address.

I messed about with the MTU size, but eventually just went back to the default setting of 1492

I put the VSS IP Address into the DMZ, which I understand takes the VSS out of the firewall (thanks grolschuk)

I didn't need to replace the router.

Fingers crossed.

View solution in original position

18 REPLIES 18

Hi Martin222,

It looks like grolschuk has already given you great advice about a router.

We can’t give any specifics but providing the router has an inbuilt bridge then it will work with the Sure Signal.

Thanks,

Andrew

Martin222