Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

THG3000 & Fibre 900 performance

Ryanshernut
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Hello,

i currently have fibre 900 and the speeds via ethernet are great. However the wifi lends to dissapointment. I have a super wifi booster and the xbox that is connected to the booster does achieve speeds of 988mbps through ethernet, any wireless device fails to achieve anywhere near this. iPhones, Macbooks etc all have in the region of 300-570mbps max which is still impressive but i do wonder if there are limitations to the vodafone system compared to third party or rival companies. I do know that when im connected to a Virgin Media 900 wifi my phone does get the download speeds.

I am a pro customer and have spoken to wifi xperts who have updated the router and settings but then go on to tell me that it is down to interference yet my booster can deliver the correct download speed over wifi to my xbox!? 

Anybody else have this issue? Is it a limitation with wifi5?

Ryan

14 REPLIES 14

Ripshod
16: Advanced member

It is a limitation of wifi5. With a connection at 1200Mbps it's rare to see transfer exceed 800Mbps or so. Factor in distance and..... as you've seen. 

Thanks for this, surely VF should have given me a suitable device such as the new powerhub (which I believe is wifi6 and is issued with standard fibre 900 plans) when I upgraded my speed then? 

Ripshod

No, you have to order a higher tier for a better router. Did you order the pro 900 as s new customer as a new customer or was it an upgrade?New Pro customers should get the wifi6 I'm sure. 

Existing customer upgrade

Ripshod

Aah, you've fallen foul of vodafone ineptitude then. They think the existing router is good enough, but we know better and they won't accept it. It's like shouting at a wall sometimes. Wifi Xperts? Yeah right!

Do you need the booster to extend the range? As that's wifi6 you could just turn the WiFi off on the router.