cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Whoa - wheres my 4G signal gone - a cautionary tale!

vegtable
4: Newbie

I have been using 4G using a directional antenna for the past 3 months getting 4 bars and about ~30 to ~45 Mbps.  A week ago the signal dropped to 2 to 3 bars and 5Mbps. Vodafone were working at the mast a week ago - a coincidence, I think not. I did call Vodafone but they didn't admit to changing anything on the mast but clearly they have - I am not the only one effected.

Fortunately I am only paying ~£20 a month for my phone SIM I use in the router. I would be very unhappy if I was locked into a £50 month mobile broadband package with little comeback.

Maybe this is just a temporary issue but I expect not. So, a cautionary tale, you run the risk of committing to a mobile broadband contract and then having your service decimated with no comeback. The silver linning is that a FTTP provider is currently at work in the village. The service won't be up until April / May next year but there is light at the end of the tunnel.

V.

9 REPLIES 9

vegtable
4: Newbie

It has gone down to ~2.5 Mbps now. On 3G I am getting 0.08 Mbps (5 bars). Epic fail Vodafone - what a joke!

V. 

TJ
Community Manager (Retired)

Hey @vegtable, we'll be happy to take a look into your local mast to see what works been done. Please let us know your full postcode, if you're not comfortable posting it on the Vodafone Community; you can get in touch via one of our social channels. Find out how to get in touch here.

Hi,

The mast I am pointed at is the Penn Hill mast: 51.2370°N 2.6253°W   ST564488.

My postcode is BA53BA.