Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

unable to activate iMessage after porting number

akasazb
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

Earlier this week I ported my number from a work account (V) to a personal account.  I received a temp SIM with a temp number to do this.  The port completed and I now send and receive calls on my own number.  However when I switch iMessage on to my iPhone, I send texts on the temp number, and do not receive texts sent to my own number.

I have searched support and done the following without success

1. Turned imessage and facetime off and on
  2. Executed a network reset
  3. Signed out of all apple devices and signed in
  4. Reset the sim
  5. Changed my apple password
  6. Set date and time to auto
  7. I am unable to delete the old number as it requires a verification code I cannot receive!

When I turn imessage on it activates the old temp number – what can I do to stop this?
 I'm not a novice to technology but cant work out if this is a Vodafone issue or an Apple iPhone 11 issue

12 REPLIES 12

BandOfBrothers
17: Community Champion

Are you abke to de register from imessage using the Apple Online form @akasazb and then re register and make sure your relevant mobile number is showing in the phones contact app / about phone section.

https://selfsolve.apple.com/deregister-imessage/ 

🌈 Stay Safe  🌈 

Current Phone  >

Samsung Galaxy s²³ Ultra 512gb Phantom Black.

Hi - thanks for the tip @bandofbrothers - I have tried the deregistration process - it sends a confirmation code ( to the temp number) and I don't receive the confirmation code (I think this is because I only receive iMessages to the temp number and not SMS.)  - I am stuck .... 

AnnS

Hi @akasazb 

This is a difficult one for sure, I don't know if you have tried this from Apple here: Add or remove your phone number in Messages or FaceTime