Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

"Connected, No Internet" with Windows PC's

johnvoisey
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

OK so i've been having problems on and off for a while but this is now getting a regular occurrence and the degree of repetition is beyond annoying. It impacts my ability to  work from home and this is pretty much a last hope someone has experienced, and fixed, the same problem

I have a vodafone router which is currently configured as full fibre, but this problem occurred before that upgrade when the wire into my home was an ADSL phone line, so the fibre / adsl bit is obviously irrelevant.

And before i go into details, I'm an IT consultant of thirty years standing who back in 1990 helped put INMARSAT's satcomms based data service into operation round the planet so I know a BIT about TCP/IP, and i've written network drivers for Linux but that was a LONG time ago.

So here's the problem. I have a couple of Windows PC's here which repeatedly have problems connecting directly to the vodafone router wifi. The problem is intermittent, but getting worse. The issue manifests as the Wifi saying "Connected - No Internet". At any one time the network here will have, in addition to those windows PC's, any of one android smart TV, two Amazon Fire Sticks, two android tablets and any number of Android phones and Iphones of various family members plus two internet CCTV cameras and a Linux / Chromebook connected and whenever this issue hits the windows PC's **NONE** of those other devices are impacted.