Ask

Solution

Router USB share file system media hub help

javanerd
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

Hello 

I saw a similar post, but it did not answer the question

I have plugged a 32gb usb stick into the back of my router and have activated the share function.  When copying the link to my PC I can see the following structure.  I created the Documents folder to be able to share files around my network.

javanerd_0-1612264016641.png

the interesting thing is that when I look onto my LG TV I see that the device has been recognised and shows the structure below.

IMG_0687.jpg

IMG_0688.jpg

Has anyone got any idea as to how to add content to these folders.  I am thinking that putting some videos in here and maybe using a bigger USB stick to stream content.  Please can anyone help on the structure????

15 REPLIES 15

Jayach
16: Advanced member

I'm no expert in this, and your pictures haven't been moderated yet, but I think you will find the PC is seeing it as a file share using SMB (Server Message Block) and the TV will be seeing it as a media device using DLNA (Digital Living Network Alliance). Personally I have never been able to get DNLA to work successfully considering it is supposed to make home media sharing easy.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge can help but this may give you something to work on.

AlexRoss64
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Just giving this a nudge as I have the exact same issue - got media plugged into my router, but all devices naturally pick up the 'wifi hub' and for whatever reason the hub only picks up a tiny and random selection of what's on there. Would be so much easier to get the hub to recognise everything on the hard drive plugged into the router and then everything would automatically recognise it.

Jayach

@AlexRoss64 wrote: