Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Thinking of joining - but confused!

russguk
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Hi all, 

First off, I'm new to the VF forum so Hello. 

I've just come out of contract with TalkTalk and looking around for an alternative broadband provider. With TalkTalk I was on their "up to 38Mbps" package but probably got slightly better speeds than that (around 40Mbps possibly). I have been considering the VF Superfast 2 package but, prior to signing up, I started a webchat to clarify speeds:

Advisor 1 : We estimate your broadband service will deliver download speeds ranging between 36.8Mbps - 56.6Mbps. Openreach confirms a minimum download speed of 32Mbps.
This means you can get superfast 1 as well as the pro and pro Xtra packages! Would you like to hear more about those?
Russ : I was looking at the Superfast 2 package, would Superfast 1 not be lower speeds (ie 35Mbps)?
Advisor 1 :It would be, as your speeds will only hit 56.6mbps, you'd only be able to have superfast 1.
Russ : So would that tie me 35Mbps max?
Advisor 1 :So it would average at 35mbps
Russ : Sorry, I'm confused! So if I went with Superfast 1, could I still get speeds up to 56.6?
Advisor 1: It could go up to that yep! But will average around 35mbps.

Just to clear that up, I started another webchat later on with a different advisor. Whilst they were condescending in their replies, they also said that I could get Superfast 2:

Advisor 2 : Okay, bear with me while I check that for you
Advisor 2 : Yeah, as we have have explained. The website is letting you pick the superfast 2 but we would only be able to offer you the supefast 1 because you can't hit the average of the superfast 2...
Advisor 2 : It sounds like that made sense to you when we have explained it previously?
Russ : I thought SF1 had a max of 35mbps, is that not the case?
Advisor 2 : No, as they explained. It has an average of 35mbp but it won't cut you off at that level. It will let you get the maximum the line can provide