main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal
Menu Toggle
Announcements
Keeping the UK connected is our main priority. Find out how we're doing thishere.
Close announcement

Mobile Broadband

Super slow gigacube 4g.

Highlighted
2: Seeker

Joined vodafone a month ago and it has been a nightmare. They promised super speeds and it would ideal for my needs but it has been nothing of the sort.

 I contacted them and they couldn't answer me except with wait until the works have finished in you area and things willbe better. Really???!!! 
if I cancel now my charges wil be extortionate. either way I am screwed. 😞

does anyone have any tips. Apart crom resetting the gigacube?  Thanks. 

 

View more options
25 REPLIES 25
Highlighted
4: Newbie

Having the same issues as you. I'm 4 months into my contract. For the first 3 mo this I had 0 issues with my connection and was delighted. Since early February I get good speeds during the morning. Up to 30mbps download and 20mbps upload. In the evening my speeds drop to unusable. I've been getting 0.2mbps download and still 20mbps upload. I've spent hours on the phone with Vodafone and hour on the online chat but nothing they do seems to help. It seems that my area is oversaturated with connections in the area and drops everyone to pointlessly slow speeds. 

 

If anyone could assist we would all be helpful. 

 

I've been through the soft reset process. I.e. turn off. Remove sim for 2 minutes and insert SIM. 

I've done the hard reset. I.e. hold the reset button on router for a minute so it resets everything. 

I've been told by the support department my SIM wasn't registered properly so I should force the router to use 3g for 30 mintues then force it to 4g only and manually select Vodafone. 

 

Once you go through all this they say I need to wait for 30 minutes and ensure it will definately be fixed. Which it isn't.

View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

That's not good @abates85 & @JMVJ. So we can check your local coverage, pop us your full postcode and we'll check this for you.

View more options
Highlighted
3: Seeker

I have the exact same issues. Ordered the gigacube at the beginning of Feb. Chatted with an agent and specifically asked about network quality because I live a bt rurally. I was reassured that the coverage at my postcode ws 'very good'. Lately I'm having massive issues with the speed (I'm using a speed checking app). I bought an outside antenna because my house is very well insulated and I hoped that the signal would come through better but it doesn't make a difference. 

 

For about an hour after waking up (usually between 9 and 10 am) it's decent and then it's pretty poor for the rest of the day. At the moment I can't watch Netflix and use my phone/ laptop at the same time. Either Netflix/ iPlayer buffer like mad or pages on my phone/ laptop take ages to load. I emailed Vodafone and was informed that the network in my area in 'unreliable'. Interesting given that I was assured of a 'very good' coverage before I signed up. I wonder if that could be reason enough to cancel my plan and change provider (my neighbours have no issue with EE but I chose Vodafone to save 5 quid per month... stupid me). Otherwise I'd be stuck in a contract for 18 months with mediocre internet and an almost constant blurry or buffering TV screen when streaming. Somehow I find it hard to accept that. 

 

By the way, the issues started to occur BEFORE the lockdown began so a busier network because everybody is at home doesn't seem to be a satisfactory answer. There are few people around here. Next door are with EE or have a landline (I don't which is why I chose mobile wifi) so I don't understand the problem.

View more options
Highlighted
3: Seeker

My gigacube was performing very well up until roughly the beginning of this month with speeds in excess of 50mbps on download and 30mbps on upload. Was very happy. 

 

However there are now running at less than 20mbps download and 0.25mbps upload. In fact upload goes down to as much as 0.1mbps. 

 

After playing around, I forced the Gigacube into 3G and now it gives 10mbps download and 4.1mbps upload. The problem seems to be the 4G network. 

 

Vodafone clearly doesn't pick up problems properly and fix them. There is no excuse for allowing upload to collapse so low and pretend the network is running fine.

View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

Hey @karo_temi & @pullenuk, can you both drop us message on Facebook or Twitter, so we can check the local mast in your areas please?

View more options
Highlighted
3: Seeker

I have already got messages between us on twitter my username is the same pullenuk. Very slow to reply on Twitter at the moment.

View more options
Highlighted
3: Seeker

Hi Dane, thank you, that's very kind of you to offer. I've already been in touch with customer service and have a reference number for my complaint. That's when I was told that the signal in my area is unreliable. But I'm happy to drop a message with my postcode for a check. Everything that helps will be great.

 

many thanks

Karo

View more options
Highlighted
4: Newbie

Hi @Mark

Sorry for the delayed response. I'm lagging as much as my gigacube I think. My postcode is PR4 3FL. now whenever I speak to tech support I get the same responses and thoroughly fed up of it. We can't even watch Netflix in the evening we just tried to watch a film for the last hour we had some stops for buffering and then gave up. Turns out we only actually got 20 minutes into the film so we was watching a loading screen more than the content. Whenever I speak to tech support I now only get the response that due to the current circumstances the traffic in my area is higher than usual as everyone on Vodafone in the area is using the same mast. This I get but surely that just means your equipment isn't capable of handling the throughput for our local area which is poor. I was promised between 30 and 40Mbps when I joined and now we struggle to get 1. We bought this service because it should be better that what our landline could offer us which would have been 14Mbps. Now I'm wasting £50 a month for a pointless service which doesn't work properly and I can't even get a landline service because openreach aren't taking bookings until July. Feel free to get in touch. 

View more options
Highlighted
3: Seeker

After lots of discussion on twitter and speed tests it appears I managed to get something sorted. Speeds are back on the upload side to 20mbps which is normal. As for download its slowly coming back up to the usual 40mbps+, but taking some time.

Either way, the internet much more useable now. However I'm still waiting for the twitter team to let me know what the engineers done, simply so I can speed up if it happens again.

Vodafone really could do with trusting some customers a bit better, I know most are not techy people, but some of us are and are capable of doing a lot of tests themselves before reporting it. It's annoying when you get told "reboot this, test this, remove sim, etc etc". Some people actually know to do this first and just want to resolve it quicker.

 

 

View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

That's brilliant news @pullenuk, I'm glad we've been able to get your speeds back up 👍 

View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

I've taken a look into the coverage in your area @abates85 and there are no current issues. The mast you're connecting to is working as expected and has experienced no recent outages. So we can take a closer look into this, pop us a message through Facebook or Twitter and we'll be happy to help get this sorted for you.

View more options
Highlighted
3: Seeker

Still waiting to hear what the problem was in the first place though!

View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

I can see we've replied to your last message over on Twitter @pullenuk - once we have another update for you we'll be back in touch as soon as we have any news.

View more options
Highlighted
4: Newbie

Hi Mark,

 

ive been in touch with your twitter and facebook feed already, the conversation is painful with extremely slow responses, mostly not even to the same person. while i started off the conversation about GigaCube the person on Twitter didnt get that message and checked landline speeds. Then proceeded to tell me due to the current circumstances its slow due to more users than normal, but this is BS because I first reported this issue at the beginning of February before all the users were locked down.

 

ive been told by call centre that the mast was damaged by wind, ive been told theres maintenance thats not on any reports. and now im told thats just the way it is. Call centre staff just try saying stuff to get you off the phone, every time i get told i need to hard reset my router and it will come back in 10 - 15 minutes meaning i need to reconnect all my devices or i need to set the router to force 4G manually and within 30 minutes everything will be fine, but it never is.

 

Im now stuck in an expensive contract i cannot release for a useless product. see below for the tail end of my twitter conversation.

 

 

Here's the photo for what it's worth. We have around 13 devices connected but even with 1 device it's the same
Apr 16, 2020, 7:18 PM
 
Ah, my mistake! Those speed checks which we run are normally for broadband. I've checked the coverage in your area and while there are some patches where it's weaker, it does get decent coverage. We are aware that there is more congestion on the lines at the moment, due to more people connecting in order to stay in contact with loved ones, working from home etc
Charlotte
Apr 16, 2020, 7:26 PM
 
Surely there's a similar amount of users in the evenings as normal. This just means your network doesn't cope with the usage in our area.
Apr 16, 2020, 7:42 PM
 
I appreciate this may not be the information you're looking for, but at present, there are a lot more users on the network for longer periods of time. Rich
Apr 18, 2020, 1:44 PM
View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

Apologies for the misunderstanding there @abates85, if you'd like me to check your local network and see if we've any issues or check for any maintenance, pop us your full postcode. If you'd prefer to do this privately, you can add it to your personal details on your profile and then only you and the moderators will be able to view it.

View more options
Highlighted
4: Newbie

Hi @Mark

 

Thanks for the response. I've already given my postcode on this thread on the 24th April. 

View more options
Highlighted
4: Newbie

Hi Mark

 

Thanks for the response. I've already given my postcode on this thread on the 24th April. 

View more options
Highlighted
Moderator

@abates85 I've again checked the signal in your area and it's the same news you've previously been given. Are you experiencing the same problems with 4G on your mobile device/other devices? I'm just wondering if you're getting a full signal on your mobile with 4G, why isn't the Gigacube working the same? 

View more options
Highlighted
4: Newbie

Hi Adam. 

 

Both my wife and I have Vodafone contracts and have reverted to using our 4g rather than the WiFi. The speeds seem a little bit better on our phone than the WiFi during these slowed periods but only by 1Mbps. I was told by tech support the reason for this is that our phones have better receivers than the gigacube. 

 

All this means is that there is no contention inside our network for bandwidth so when we stream TV we can also browse the web on our phones. 

View more options