Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Bank card fraud

apr12
2: Seeker

I'm not a current Vodafone customer, and have never been. But several days ago my bank card info was stolen (It's a Visa Debit) and the fraudster made a series of transactions at "VODAFONE E-COMMERCE NEWBURY GB". There were 5 unauthorized transactions made (15 GBP each, that is 75 in total).

I've phoned my bank (not a UK bank. I'm an international student in the UK.) but unfortunately they presume their customer guilty and won't refund anything before their lengthy investigation concludes. And they would charge me for their "investigation". So I won't recover much in this way (But I let them start the investigation anyway!).

So I talked to a Vodafone agent online, and she gave me a number of their fraud department. The fraud department was not very helpful as well. They won't help me locate the transactions in their system, and insisted that I should call the bank. A dead end.

So I would like to have your suggestions. Is there any way to push Vodafone to investigate on their side? Like blocking the fraudsters' phone account or turning the fraudsters' information to the police?

7 REPLIES 7

Mark
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hey @apr12 I'm sorry to hear your details have been used in this way. We'll be more than happy to take a look into this and help prevent it from happening again. As we'll need some personal information, along with the reference numbers for these payments, pop us a private message through on of our social channels. When you message us, please include your Community ID and a link to this thread. 

AnnS
17: Community Champion

Hi @apr12