cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

How can I prevent data roaming in non-inclusive countries?

RichTheFly
3: Seeker

I'm new to Vodafone having moved over from EE.

With EE, data services were automatically suspended when roaming in countries not included with the contract unless a data package had been purchased.

I can't see how to do this with Vodafone - any suggestions? If it helps matters, the device is a Note 10+ on an unlimited plan with Global Roaming Plus.

11 REPLIES 11

AnnS
17: Community Champion

Hi @RichTheFly 

Vodafone don't offer this service, it is down to the customer to turn off roaming and mobile data to prevent access to chargeable destinations.

If you follow this link Global roaming plus destinationsyou will see the global roaming plus inclusive destinations and destinations where there is a £6.00 daily charge.

However, Vodafone do offer 77 destinations where you won't pay any roaming charges.

donnyguy
16: Advanced member

Hey,

Alternative option is to set your spend cap to zero.

The data roaming charges are then capped. 

RichTheFly

Thanks for the information.  It's a shame as there are plenty of ways which Vodafone offers to restrict usage - I note they offer the option to restrict out-of-plan data usage to 50EUR. It would seem pretty logical that they could offer this to other values, including zero.

If I were to use the spending cap to prevent usage and arrive in an out-of-plan country, does the phone still connect to a data service but prevent usage?  If so, can My Vodafone still be used to make changes to settings?  I don't want to be in a downroute country without the option to easily turn off a spending cap which would prevent me from making calls.

AnnS

Hi @RichTheFly

If you set the spending cap to zero, this we will include everything, you wouldn't be able to call or text.

You would still be able to use the application but on a WiFi connection.